Our Team

Eleni Venaki

Director

Eleni leads the team and is responsible for overseeing the direction of The Comfrey Project, fundraising and financial management.

eleni@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Mike Blenkarn

Administration and Finance Officer

Mike provides administrative support across the team and coordinates the use of our spaces for our various events, sessions and workshops.

michael@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Hossein Elahi Boroujeni

Session Coordinator (Culture Hub)

Hossein originally came to The Comfrey Project as a volunteer himself. Having started his Comfrey career leading a research project, he now coordinates the weekly Culture Hub.

hossein@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Mufida Abdualla

Session Coordinator (Language & Skills Cafe)

Previously a Comfrey Project volunteer, Mufida now runs the weekly Language and Skills Café, as well as providing support on our research project and other regular events.

mufida@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Tessa Conder

Volunteer Coordinator

Tessa is the first point of contact for new people at The Comfrey Project. Tessa oversees the registration and induction of new participants, referrals, and volunteers. She provides oversight and support for all of our volunteers throughout their Comfrey journey.

tessa@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Hakan Akarli

Bridge Builder

The Bridge Builders are members of Lankelly Chase Foundation’s Gateshead Coordination Team, which is hosted by The Comfrey Project and other partners in the Gateshead area. Their role is to build engagement and integration between the refugee communities they are part of, the local community and local services.

hakan@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Eric Bamela

Bridge Builder

The Bridge Builders are members of Lankelly Chase Foundation’s Gateshead Coordination Team, which is hosted by The Comfrey Project and other partners in the Gateshead area. Their role is to build engagement and integration between the refugee communities they are part of, the local community and local services.

eric@thecomfreyproject.org.uk

Our Trustees

Penny Schofield (Chair)

Mulubrhan Bahta

Kevin Douglas

Navid Hadadi

Stephanie Nelson

Harold Norcott

Sally Young